World  Philosophical  Heritage

The Divine Chain of Sikh Gurus

Sikhism : The Divine Chain of Sikh Gurus

The first Sikh Guru, Guru Nanak laid down the foundation of the Sikhism. He then infused his Divine consciousness into his disciple, and he became the second Guru, subsequently passing the Divine Light on to the next until the tenth Guru, Guru Gobind Singh.

The word Guru is derived from the root words “Gu” which means darkness or ignorance, and “ru”, which means light or knowledge; the Guru is the experience of the Truth (God).

Each one of the Gurus represents a Divine attribute:

Guru Nanak—Humility
Guru Angad—Obedience
Guru AmarDas—Equality
Guru Ram Das—Service
Guru Arjan—Total Submission to the “Will” of the God
Guru HarGobind—Justice
Guru Har Rai—Mercy
Guru Harkrishan—Purity
Guru Teg Bahadur—Tranquility
Guru Gobind Singh—Royal Courage

Guru Gobind Singh, the tenth Guru, exemplified the Sikh Ideal of Sodier—Saint. He was also an inspired and prolific writer, courageous warrior, and a source of Divine Wisdom to the Sikhs. “When all other means have failed,” he said, “only then it is righteous to take up the sword.” He was the defender of the poor, the meek, and the oppressed masses of India.

Until the last Guru, Guru Gobind Singh, a physical person had been designated by the previous Guru to guide and support the Sikhs in their temporal and spiritual lives. He, however brought an end to the physical person being the Sikh Guru and declared the successor Guru “Aad Siri Guru Granth Sahib” as the living embodiment of the Guru, to be regarded with utmost reverence and respect. The Sikhs all over the world took to the “Aad Siri Guru Granth Sahib” as their living Guru, as the source of spiritual inspiration and guidance.