Inter-  Faiths  Dialogue

The Ways > The Eightfold Path

11 quote(s)  | Page 1 / 1

W hat now is Right Attentiveness? […]
- And further, the disciple is clearly conscious in his going and coming; clearly conscious in looking forward and backward, clearly conscious in bending and stretching (any part of hi body); clearly conscious in eating, drinking, chewing and tasting: clearly conscious in discharging excrement and urine, clearly conscious in walking, standing, sitting, falling asleep and awakening; clearly conscious in speaking and in keeping silent.

quote 2497  | 
Digha Nikaya, 22 

W hat now is Right Attentiveness?
- The only way that leads to the attainment of purity, to the overcoming of sorrow and lamentation, to the end of pain and grief, to the entering upon the right path and the realization of Nibbana, is the Four Fundamentals of Attentiveness. And which are these four?
There the disciple lives in contemplation of the Body, in contemplation of Feeling, in contemplation of the Mind, in contemplation of Phenomena, ardent, clearly conscious and attentive, after putting away worldly greed and grief.

quote 2495  | 
Digha Nikaya, 22 

W hat now is Right Effort? […]
-The effort of avoiding, overcoming,
Of developing and maintaining:
Such four great efforts have been shown
By him, the scion of the sun.
And he who firmly clings to them
May put an end to all the pain.

quote 2494  | 
Anguttara Nikaya, IV. 14 

W hat now is Right Effort? […]
-Truly the disciple, who is possessed of faith and has penetrated the Teaching of the Master, is filled with the thought; May rather skin, sinews and bones wither away, may the flesh and blood of my body dry up; I shall not give up my efforts so long as I have not attained whatever is attainable by manly perseverance, energy and endeavour! This is called right effort.

quote 2493  | 
Majjhima Nikaya, 70 

W hat now is Right Effort? […]
What now is the effort to develop?
There the disciple incites his will to arouse meritorious conditions, that have not yet arisen; and he strives, puts forth his energy, strains his mind and struggles.
Thus he develops the Elements of Enlightenment (bojjhanga), bent on solitude, on detachment, on extinction, and ending in deliverance, namely: Attentiveness, Investigation of the Law, Energy, Rapture, Tranquility, Concentration, and Equanimity.

quote 2492  | 
Anguttara Nikaya, IV.13,14 (3) 

W hat now is right Mindedness?
The thought free from lust.
The thought free from ill-will.
The thought free from cruelty.
This is called right mindedness.

quote 2488  | 
Digha Nikaya, 22 

N ow, in understanding wrong understanding as wrong, and right understanding as right, one practices Right Understanding; and in making efforts to overcome wrong understanding, and to arouse right understanding, one practices Right effort; and in overcoming wrong understanding with attentive mind, and dwelling with attentive mind in possession of right understanding, one practices Right Attentiveness. Hence, there are three things that accompany and follow upon right understanding, namely: right understanding, right effort, and right attentiveness.

quote 2479  | 
Majjhima Nikaya, 117 

W hat now is Right Understanding? […]
- The view that alms and offerings are not useless; that there is fruit and result both of good and bad actions; that there are such things as this life and the next life; that father and mother, as also spontaneously born beings (in the heavenly worlds) are no mere words; that there are in the world monks and priests, who are spotless and perfect, who can explain this life and the next life, which they themselves have understood: -this is called the Mundane Right Understanding, which yields worldly fruits and brings good results.

quote 2478  | 
Majjhima Nikaya, 117 

W hat now is Right Understanding? […]
- Or, when one understands that form, feeling, perception, mental formations and consciousness are transient, (subject to suffering and without an Ego) also in that case one possesses Right Understanding.

quote 2475  | 
Samyutta Nikaya, 21 (5) 

W hat now is Right Understanding?
- 1. To understand suffering; 2. To understand the origin of suffering; 3. To understand the extinction of suffering; 4. To understand the path that leads to the extinction of suffering. This is called Right Understanding.

quote 2474  | 
Digha Nikaya, 22 

I t is the Noble Eightfold Path, the way that leads to the extinction of suffering, namely:
i. 1. Right Understanding, Samma-ditthi
ii. 2. Right Mindedness, Samma-sankappa
iii. 3. Right Speech, Sarnma-vaca
iv. 4. Right Action, Samma-kammanta
v. 5. Right Living, Samma-ajiva
vi. 6. Right Effort, Samma-vayama
vii. 7. Right Attentiveness, Samma-sati
viii. 8. Right Concentration, Samma-samadhi

quote 2471  | 
Samyutta Nikaya, 56 

Page:  1

Follow the daily quotes on

World Sacred Scriptures
The Dhammapada
The Diamond sutra and the Heart Sutra
The Bible
Corpus Hermetica
The Bhagavad Gita
The Laws of Manu
The Upanishads
The Holy Koran (External Link)
The Zohar (External Link)
Shri Guru Granth Sahib
The Avesta
The Writings of Bahá’u’lláh
Apocrypha of the Bible
The Dao De Jing
Tibetan Book of the Dead

Quotes from the World Religion

God Love All Beings

Scriptures 360

Bahai 360
Buddhism 360
Christianity 360
Hinduism 360
Islam 360
Jainism 360
Judaism 360
Sickhim 360
Taoism 360
Zoroastrism 360

Quotes by sacred scriptures

Quotes by authors

Quotes by schools of thought

Quotes by subjects

Search quotes by keywords